Government of Canada / Gouvernement du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada


First Nations Fiscal Management Act

Version of section 17 from 2005-03-23 to 2006-03-31:

The following provision is not in force.

Marginal note:Commission

  •  (1) There is hereby established a commission, to be known as the First Nations Tax Commission, consisting of 10 commissioners, including a Chief Commissioner and Deputy Chief Commissioner.

  • Marginal note:Capacity, rights, powers and privileges

    (2) The Commission has the capacity, rights, powers and privileges of a natural person, including the capacity to

    • (a) enter into contracts;

    • (b) acquire, hold and dispose of property or an interest in property;

    • (c) raise, invest or borrow money; and

    • (d) sue and be sued.

Date modified: