Government of Canada / Gouvernement du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada


Naskapi and the Cree-Naskapi Commission Act

Version of section 12 from 2002-12-31 to 2018-03-28:

Marginal note:Incorporation of eight Cree bands

  •  (1) Pursuant to subparagraph 9.0.1a) of the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement, the Indian Act Cree bands of

    • (a) Great Whale River,

    • (b) Chisasibi,

    • (c) Old Factory,

    • (d) Eastmain,

    • (e) Rupert House,

    • (f) Nemaska,

    • (g) Waswanipi, and

    • (h) Mistassini

    are hereby separately constituted as corporations bearing the names set out in paragraphs (2)(a) to (h), respectively, subject to section 16.

  • Marginal note:Names of incorporated Cree bands

    (2) The bands incorporated by subsection (1) may, respectively, be legally designated by any of their English, French or Cree names, as follows:

    • (a) Great Whale River Band, Bande de Poste-de-la-Baleine, Whapmagoostoo Aeyouch;

    • (b) Chisasibi Band, Bande de Chisasibi, Chisasibi Eeyouch;

    • (c) Wemindji Band, Bande de Wemindji, Wemindji Eeyou;

    • (d) Eastmain Band, Bande de Eastmain, Wapanoutauw Eeyou;

    • (e) Waskaganish Band, Bande de Waskaganish, Waskaganish Eeyou;

    • (f) Nemaska Band, Bande de Nemiscau, Nemaskauw Eenouch;

    • (g) Waswanipi Band, Bande de Waswanipi, Waswanipi Eenouch; and

    • (h) Mistassini Band, Bande de Mistassini, Mistasini Eenouch.

Date modified: